Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

 


Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
Réf. de l'emploi:
3714

Titre du poste:
Délégué(e) commercial(e) (Ontario)

Échelle salariale:
79, 711 $US, plus les avantages

Type de poste:
Terme/Indéterminé

Détails reliés au statut:
Il y a un (1) poste à pourvoir ayant une période déterminée d’emploi de un (1) ans, avec possibilité de prolongation ou de changement pour un statut de période indéterminée, selon les besoins opérationnels. Ce processus de dotation par concours peut servir à dresser une liste d’admissibilité de candidat(e)s qualifié(e)s pour ce poste ou un poste semblable, avec différentes durées, y compris les débouchés suivants : période indéterminée ou déterminée, affectation/mutation ou intérim au Consulat général du Canada à New York. Lorsque vous soumettez votre candidature, vous devez préciser tous les types de durées d’emploi pour lesquelles vous souhaitez que votre candidature soit examinée, p. ex. durée indéterminée, déterminée, affectation/mutation ou intérim.

Niveau de classification:
Agent

Classification:
LE-07

Lieu de travail:
Consulat général du Canada à New York-Ontario International - Bureau du commerce et des investissements à New York

Date de clôture:
01-12-2019 À 23:59 UTC / GMT

Résumé de la position:
Le gouvernement de l’Ontario dispose d’un réseau de bureaux de représentation, Ontario International - Bureaux du commerce et des investissements (TIO), qui sont implantés dans des villes un peu partout dans le monde. Ces bureaux sont hébergés dans des missions diplomatiques du Canada et sont composés d’un diplomate canadien (chef du TIO) et d’une équipe recrutée sur place. Mesurés en termes de résultats quantitatifs, les TIO ont le mandat d’établir des relations commerciales entre l’Ontario et le pays hôte, et ce, de trois façons: 1) en faisant la promotion des exportations; 2) en attirant les investissements directs étrangers; et 3) en nouant des partenariats.

Le/La délégué(e) commercial(e) (Ontario) est un(e) employé(e) local(e) du gouvernement du Canada, mais travaille avec le chef TIO et s’y rapporte. Sous la direction générale du chef de programme, le Bureau commercial (Ontario) contribue au succès commercial des entreprises de l’Ontario sur le territoire couvert par le Bureau du commerce et des investissements. Cela comprend le soutien aux exportateurs, mais aussi l’innovation, les investissements directs étrangers (IDE) en Ontario ainsi que la défense des intérêts.

Certaines responsabilités comprennent, mais sans s’y limiter:

• Fournir des conseils ou répondre aux demandes de renseignements des clients concernant les investissements directs étrangers, le commerce, l’environnement commercial, les opportunités et les enjeux, selon les besoins.
• En collaboration avec le chef de programme, servir de point de contact principal avec les clients de l’Ontario, afin de les conseiller de manière proactive sur les opportunités et les réseaux locaux dignes de confiance et les aider à appliquer leurs stratégies commerciales.

Qualifications essentielles:
Les personnes qui posent leur candidature doivent démontrer clairement dans leur lettre comment elles répondent à la langue, exigences en matière d’études et d’expérience qui sont énumérées ci-dessous:

Linguistique:
Maîtrise de l’anglais (oral et écrit).

Études:
Baccalauréat d’un établissement reconnu – collège ou université – dans les domaines des affaires, de l’économie ou tout autre domaine lié aux fonctions du poste.

Expérience:
• Au moins deux années d’expérience récente en expansion des entreprises ou dans la gestion de programme, idéalement dans un environnement de promotion du commerce et des investissements;
• Expérience récente de la gestion des relations avec les principaux clients et parties intéressées, ainsi qu’à obtenir, préparer et tenir des réunions avec des clients du secteur privé (c.-à-d., réunions interentreprises, réunions de vente, sollicitation à froid);
• Expérience récente de la gestion de projet (y compris la planification stratégique, le suivi/le compte-rendu des résultats et la gestion budgétaire);
• Expérience récente de la recherche et de l’analyse et de la prestation de conseils stratégiques, de séances d’information et de rapports écrits à la haute direction et aux clients sur des questions commerciales;
• Expérience récente du travail en équipe et de l’accomplissement de résultats permettant d’atteindre les objectifs de l’équipe.

* Expérience récente est définie comme étant une expérience professionnelle au cours des 5 dernières années.

Exigences cotées:
Les personnes qui posent leur candidature et qui satisfont aux langue ,exigences en matière d’études et d’expérience seront évaluées sur les qualifications suivantes. L’évaluation peut comprendre une entrevue, un test écrit et d’autres tests qui consisteront en une série de questions conçues pour évaluer les connaissances, les capacités et les qualités personnelles de chaque candidat(e).

Connaissances:
Connaissance de base des principaux de l’Ontario et les intérêts du marché local (p. ex. les intérêts des entreprises et de l’économie, les coutumes locales / pratiques opérationnelles)
Capacités:
• Capacité à communiquer clairement et efficacement, tant oralement que par écrit;
• Capacité à travailler efficacement en équipe et de façon indépendante;
• Capacité à développer et à cultiver un réseau de clients canadiens, de contacts locaux et d’influenceurs; et,
• De solides compétences en organisation et le souci du détail avec la capacité d’établir des priorités et d’organiser la charge de travail, plusieurs tâches en même temps, être souple, et de travailler efficacement sous pression

Qualités personnelles:
• Beaucoup d’entregent / relations;
• Initiative; et,
• Orientation client

Qualifications constituant un atout:
Exigences souhaitables :
• La capacité de travailler en français serait un atout.
• Connaissance et intérêt au Canada et/ou les intérêts économiques et commerciaux de l’Ontario.
• Connaissance des événements politiques américains et canadiens et les enjeux.

Besoins organisationnels:
-

Besoins opérationnels:
Les heures normales de travail pour ce poste sont conformes aux règlements s’appliquant aux employés recrutés sur place (ERP), soit 37,5 heures par semaine. La personne retenue doit être disposée à travailler le soir, certains week-ends et jours de congé.
Déplacement:
Le poste sera également exiger certains voyages d’affaires au sein du bureau du territoire (Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvanie, Rhode Island et Vermont). De plus, il ou elle doit être admissible pour les voyages au Canada.

Condition (s) d'emploi:
• Avoir un permis de travail aux États-Unis, obtenu de façon indépendante, et un statut qui se conforme aux directives du protocole des États-Unis pour les missions étrangères.
• Résider aux États-Unis.
• Répondre à toutes les exigences essentielles énoncées ci-dessous.
• Soumettre leur CV et leur lettre de motivation d’une page avant la date limite. La lettre de motivation d’une page doit:
o Préciser, à l’aide d’exemples concrets, en quoi vous répondez aux exigences essentielles pour ce poste.
o Confirmer la résidence aux États-Unis.

Note: Le défaut à fournir l’une ou l’autre des informations requises ci-dessus entraînera le rejet de votre demande. Toutes les communications relatives à ce processus, y compris la correspondance par courriel, peuvent être utilisées pour évaluer les qualifications.

Condition d’emploi (doit être remplie):
• La personne retenue devra obtenir la cote de fiabilité du gouvernement du Canada, ce qui comprend une vérification des antécédents criminels et du dossier de crédit.
• Ont l’autorisation de travail indépendant aux États-Unis et, conformément aux directives du protocole des États-Unis pour des missions à l’étranger. Le consulat général du Canada n’a pas de parrainer les demandes de permis de travail au nom des candidats


Zone de sélection:
1. Le grand public qui remplit actuellement toutes les exigences essentielles énoncées ci-dessous et qui réside aux États-Unis. 2. Les employés de l’ambassade du Canada à Washington (D.C.) et de toute mission canadienne aux États-Unis. . 3. Conjoints et personnes à charge canadiens des employés du consulat du Canada à New York. *La réinstallation ne seront remboursées en aucun cas.

Notes importantes:
Procédure de sélection:
Le processus de dotation en personnel comprendra un examen de toutes les candidatures pour s’assurer que les candidat(e)s répondent aux exigences essentielles. Veuillez noter que le défaut à remplir l’une ou l’autre des qualifications essentielles élimine les candidat(e)s d’une évaluation plus poussée dans le cadre de ce concours. La section Ressources humaines ne communiquera qu’avec les candidat(e)s qui répondent à ces exigences pour un entretien en personne ou une autre forme d’évaluation (test écrit, exercice de la corbeille ou test de compétences) des exigences cotées pour le poste. Tous les candidat(e)s doivent présenter le statut juridique leur permettant de vivre et de travailler aux É.-U. Des vérifications des références peuvent également être effectuées.

Le Consulat général s’est engagé à mener des processus de sélection inclusifs et ouverts.

Le Consulat général offre un salaire concurrentiel, de généreux congés et un bon ensemble d’avantages sociaux comprenant un régime de soins médicaux, dentaires, d’invalidité de longue durée et d’épargne-retraite, pour n’en mentionner que quelques-uns.

Pour postuler:
• S’appliquent d’ici le 1 decembre 2019 (17 H HNE)
• La vérification des références sera demandée pour les candidats qui réussissent à l’étape de l’entrevue et seront utilisés pour valider l’information fournie par les candidats



Pour de plus amples informations sur ce poste, veuillez vous référer au document suivant:



Désolé, ce poste à pourvoir est clos.

Navigation principale

Pied de page

Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

 


Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
Job Ref:
3714

Job Title:
Commercial Officer (Ontario)

Salary:
USD $79,711 plus benefits

Vacancy type:
Term/Indeterminate

Term Details:
There is one (1) term position available, having a specified period of employment of one (1) year, with the possibility of a term extension or a change in status to indeterminate based on operational needs. This competitive staffing process may be used to create an eligibility list of qualified candidates for this position with various tenures, including indeterminate, term, assignment/transfer, and/or acting opportunities at the Consulate General of Canada in New York, which might arise in the 12 months following the completion of this competition. When you submit your application, you must specify all types of employment tenures for which you wish to be considered, e.g., indeterminate, term, assignment/transfer, and/or acting.

Level:
Officer

Classification:
LE-07

Location:
Canadian Consulate General of Canada in New York-Ontario Trade and Investment Office (TIO

Closing date for applications:
01-12-2019 at 23:59 UTC/GMT

Summary of position:
The Ontario Government has a network of representational offices, Ontario International - Trade and Investment Offices (TIOs), in cities around the world. They are co-located in Canadian diplomatic missions, composed of a Canadian Diplomat - (Head of the TIO) and a locally engaged team. Measured by quantitative results, TIOs are mandated to build commercial relations between Ontario and the host country in 3 ways: 1) Export Promotion; 2) Foreign Direct Investment Attraction; and 3) Partnership Development.

The Commercial Officer (Ontario) is a local employee of the Government of Canada but works with and reports to the Head of the TIO. Under the general direction of the Head of Program, the Commercial Officer (Ontario) contributes to the commercial success of Ontario companies in the territory covered by the Trade and Investment Office. This includes support to exporters, but also innovation, Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) into Ontario as well as advocacy.

Some responsibilities include but are not limited to:

• Providing advice and/or responding to requests for information from clients on foreign direct investment, trade, business environment, opportunities and challenges as required
• Serving, in collaboration with the Head of Program, as a key point of contact with Ontario-based clients to pro-actively advise them on opportunities and reputable local networks to help them implement their commercial strategies.

Essential qualifications:
Candidates must demonstrate clearly in their cover letter how they meet the essential requirements listed below. Please be specific and provide examples for each of the requirements. Only those candidates who meet all the Essential Requirements will proceed to the next stage of the process:

Language requirement:
• Fluency in English (oral and written).

Education:
• Bachelor's Degree from an accredited college or university in a business, economics, or a field related to the duties of the position.

Experience:
• At least 2 years of recent experience working in business development or program management, ideally in a trade & investment promotion environment;
• Recent experience in managing client and key stakeholder relationships, and in obtaining, preparing for, and conducting meetings with private sector clients (i.e., business to business meetings, sales meetings, cold calls);
• Recent experience in project management (including strategic planning, tracking/reporting results and budget management);
• Recent experience conducting research and analysis and providing strategic advice, briefings and written reports to senior management and/or clients on business issues;
• Recent experience working in teams and achieving results to meet team objectives.

*Recent experience is defined as work experience in the last 5 years.

Rated Requirements:
Candidates who meet the Language, Education and Experience requirements will be assessed on the following qualifications. The assessment may be a written test, an interview, an in-basket exercise, a skills test, or any combination of these methods.

Knowledge:
• Basic knowledge of key Ontario and local market interests (e.g. business and economic interests, local customs/business practices)

Abilities:
• Ability to communicate clearly and effectively, both orally and in writing;
• Ability to work independently;
• Ability to develop and maintain a network of Canadian clients, local contacts and influencers; and,
• Strong organization skills and attention to detail with the ability to prioritize and organize workload, multi-task, be flexible, and work effectively under pressure

Personal Suitability:
• Strong interpersonal / relationship building skills;
• Initiative; and,
• Client Focus.

Asset Qualifications:
Desirable requirements:
• The ability to work in French would be an asset.
• Knowledge of and interest in Canada and/or Ontario’s economic and trade interests.
• Knowledge of current US and Canadian political events and issues.

Organizational Needs:
-

Operational Requirements:
Hours of work:
Normal hours of work for this position are in accordance with the Locally Engaged Staff (LES) regulations of 37.5 hours per week. The successful candidate must be able to work overtime on short notice and to be available for occasional duties outside normal working hours, i.e., evenings, weekends, and some holiday events.

Travel:
The position will also require some business travel within the office’s territory (Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont). Additionally, he/she must be admissible for travel to Canada.

Condition(s) of Employment:
All applicants must:
• Have independent work authorization in the U.S. and status in accordance with U.S. protocol directives for foreign missions.
• Currently reside in the Unites States.
• Meet all of the essential requirements stated below.
• Submit your resume and a one-page cover letter by the closing date. The cover letter must::
o Specify, using concrete examples, how you meet the essential requirements for this position.
o Confirm stated residency requirements.
Note: Failure to provide any of the information required above will result in your application being rejected. All communication relating to this process, including email correspondence, may be used in the assessment of qualifications.
All applicants must:
• Have independent work authorization in the U.S. and status in accordance with U.S. protocol directives for foreign missions.
• Currently reside in the Unites States.
• Meet all of the essential requirements stated below.
• Submit your resume and a one-page cover letter by the closing date. The cover letter must::
o Specify, using concrete examples, how you meet the essential requirements for this position.
o Confirm stated residency requirements.
Note: Failure to provide any of the information required above will result in your application being rejected. All communication relating to this process, including email correspondence, may be used in the assessment of qualifications.

Conditions of employment (must be met):
• The successful candidate will be required to obtain Government of Canada Reliability Status (RS) security verification.
• Have independent work authorization in the U.S. and status in accordance with U.S. protocol directives for foreign missions. The Consulate General of Canada does not sponsor work permit applications on behalf of candidates

Area of selection:
1. Persons living in the United States. 2. Employees of the Embassy of Canada in Washington D.C. and of any Canadian Mission in the United States. 3. Spouses and dependents of Canada-based staff at the Consulate of Canada in New York. * Relocation will not be paid in any circumstances.

Important Notes:
Selection Procedure:
The staffing process will consist of a review of all applications to ensure that applicants meet the essential requirements. Please note that failure to meet any of the essential qualifications eliminates candidates from further consideration in the competition. Only those applicants who meet these will be contacted by the Human Resources Section for an interview or other form of assessment of the Rated Requirements.

The assessment(s) may include an interview, a written test and other tests that will consist of a series of questions designed to evaluate each applicant's knowledge, abilities and personal suitability for the position. Reference verifications may also be carried out.

The Consulate General of Canada in New York is committed to conducting inclusive, barrier-free selection processes. Candidates will be considered on merit regardless of ethnic origin, religious belief, gender, age, sexual orientation, disability or any other irrelevant factor. The Consulate General offers a competitive salary, generous leave and a strong benefits package to include medical, dental, long term disability, and a retirement savings plan to name a few.

Method of application:
• Apply by December 1, 2019 (5PM EST).
• Reference checks will be sought for candidates that are successful at the interview stage and will be used to validate information provided by candidates.



For more information about this position please open the following documents:



Sorry, this vacancy is closed.

Primary navigation

Footer