Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

 


Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
Réf. de l'emploi:
4407

Titre du poste:
Agent, Service de la politique étrangère et de la diplomatie

Échelle salariale:
-

Type de poste:
Durée déterminée

Détails reliés au statut:
Ceci est une formidable occasion de travailler au consulat général du Canada à New York, au sein de l’équipe du Service de la politique étrangère et de la diplomatie (SPED), qui est dynamique et a le souci d’obtenir des résultats, afin de promouvoir, faire avancer et appuyer les intérêts bilatéraux Canada‒ É.-U en matière économique et de sécurité, à l’intérieur du territoire du consulat général couvrant 5 États (New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Pennsylvanie et Delaware). Nos employés profitent du fait de travailler dans un ministère des Affaires mondiales qui est d’avant-garde, novateur et responsable. Nous mettons l’accent sur l’apprentissage, et nous nous assurons que notre main-d’œuvre possède les compétences nécessaires pour réussir. Il y a un (1) poste à pourvoir d’une durée déterminée d’emploi de trois (3) ans, avec possibilité de prolongation ou de changement pour un statut indéterminé, selon les besoins opérationnels. Ce processus de dotation par concours peut servir à dresser une liste d’admissibilité de candidat(e)s qualifié(e)s pour ce poste ayant diverses durées, y compris des occasions de postes à durée indéterminée, déterminée, affectation/mutation ou intérim au Consulat général du Canada occasions qui pourraient survenir dans les 12 mois qui suivent la fin de ce concours.

Niveau de classification:
Agent

Classification:
LE-O1

Lieu de travail:
Consulat général du Canada à New York

Date de clôture:
27-03-2021 À 23:59 UTC+1 / GMT+1

Résumé de la position:
Sous la direction de l’administrateur général (SPED) et conformément aux priorités internationales du gouvernement du Canada et à ses objectifs spécifiques aux États-Unis, la personne titulaire est responsable, entre autres, de mener des activités de sensibilisation, d’entreprendre des activités de défense des intérêts et de faire des comptes-rendus sur les principales questions prioritaires. Cela comprend, mais sans s’y limiter: les activités de suivi, la recherche et l’analyse des évolutions de politiques, législatives, politiques et économiques dans la région qui sont d’intérêt pour le Canada; établir et maintenir des contacts dans des domaines clés comme le milieu universitaire, le gouvernement, les groupes de réflexion et les institutions politiques; promouvoir les intérêts et les objectifs du Canada en contribuant aux discussions dans les forums pertinents dans tout le territoire du consulat général; rédiger des rapports ainsi que des documents de communication ou de défense des intérêts, des programmes de visites et des notes d’information; et contribuer à la planification et à la mise en œuvre de projets de défense des intérêts, à la prestation de programmes, aux stratégies de communication, aux visites et événements officiels. L’agent(e) SPED travaillera en étroite collaboration avec les équipes du SPED et du développement du commerce international du consulat, y compris ses bureaux régionaux, ainsi qu’avec le réseau canadien des consulats aux États-Unis pour coordonner les activités et les initiatives. Le/La candidat(e) fera preuve d’une solide capacité à réfléchir de manière innovante à la prestation de programmes, à planifier efficacement dans un environnement très exigeant, à développer et à faire participer un réseau de partenaires externes, à travailler de façon indépendante de manière proactive et responsable et à communiquer efficacement.

Qualifications essentielles:
Les candidat(e)s doivent démontrer clairement dans leur lettre comment ils/elles satisfont aux qualifications en matière de langue, d’études et d’expérience qui sont énumérées ci-dessous. Veuillez faire preuve de précision et fournir des exemples pour chacune des qualifications.

Exigence linguistique:
Maîtrise de l’anglais (oral et écrit).

Études:
Baccalauréat d’une université ou d’un collège qui est reconnu, dans un domaine lié aux fonctions requises par le poste (notamment relations internationales, économie, commerce, communications ou politiques publiques) ou un diplôme d’une université reconnue et au moins cinq années d’expérience professionnelle.

Expérience:
1. Au moins 3 ans d’expérience professionnelle récente* en relations gouvernementales ou internationales ou dans un secteur qui est axé sur la défense des intérêts/la politique/l’économie.
2. Expérience à effectuer de la recherche et de l’analyse sur des questions de politique et d’affaires publiques et à fournir des conseils, séances d’information et rapports écrits à la direction et aux clients.
3. Expérience à développer des relations avec les clients, les parties prenantes et les influenceurs.
4. Expérience à contribuer à l’élaboration, à la planification et à l’exécution de stratégies de défense des intérêts.
5. Expérience en gestion de projet (y compris la planification, l’exécution, le suivi/le compte-rendu des résultats et la gestion budgétaire).
6. Expérience de la préparation de mémoires, de rapports et de matériel de communication (p. ex., discours, messages clés, présentations) pour la sensibilisation et les événements.
7. Expérience dans un environnement de bureau, assortie d’une connaissance pratique de Word, PowerPoint, Outlook, Excel, de la recherche sur Internet et des bases de données.

* Expérience récente est définie comme étant au cours des 5 dernières années.

Qualifications constituant un atout:
Capacité à communiquer en français.

Besoins organisationnels:
Les candidat(e)s qui satisfont aux exigences en matière de langue, d’études et d’expérience seront évalué(e)s sur les qualifications suivantes. L’évaluation peut comprendre un test écrit, une entrevue et une vérification des références.

Expérience:
• Expérience à travailler de manière innovante avec des individus ou des groupes pour forger des partenariats et des initiatives intersectorielles;
• Expérience à planifier, organiser et tenir des réunions avec des intervenants clés; et
• Expérience de l'application d'une lentille intersectionnelle aux initiatives, en vue de faire progresser la diversité, l'équité et l'inclusion; et
• Expérience de la prestation de services et du travail avec une clientèle diversifiée, y compris des groupes raciaux.

Connaissances:
• Connaissance des facteurs qui, en règle générale, influencent la politique aux États-Unis, et comment ces facteurs peuvent avoir un impact sur la politique étrangère et les intérêts économiques du Canada; et
• Connaissance des structures et des tendances politiques et économiques dans le Nord-Est, aux États-Unis et au Canada.

Capacités:
• Capacité à communiquer oralement et par écrit ;
• Capacité d’analyser des thématiques complexes et de fournir des conseils;
• Capacité à gérer plusieurs priorités ayant des délais serrés ;
• Capacité de faire du réseautage et de maintenir un réseau de clients et d’influenceurs ;
• Capacité de travailler de façon autonome de manière proactive, efficace et responsable ; et
• Capacité de travailler efficacement en équipe.

Qualités personnelles:
• Adaptabilité et flexibilité ;
• Relations interpersonnelles efficaces ;
• Priorité au client ;
• Jugement sûr ; et
• Intégrité.

Besoins opérationnels:
Heures de travail :
Les heures normales de travail pour ce poste sont en conformité avec les règlements de la semaine de 37,5 heures qui s’appliquent au personnel recruté sur place. Le/La candidat(e) retenu(e) doit être prêt(e) à travailler le soir et à faire des heures supplémentaires, au besoin.

Déplacement :
Ce poste exige des déplacements occasionnels dans le territoire qui est couvert par le consulat général (du Canada à New York et, à l’occasion, au Canada.

Condition (s) d'emploi:
• Admissibilité à une cote de fiabilité du gouvernement du Canada, ce qui comprend une vérification des antécédents criminels et de solvabilité; et
• Permis de travail aux États-Unis, obtenu de façon indépendante, et un statut qui se conforme aux directives du protocole des É.-U. pour les missions étrangères.
• Doit être disposé et capable de voyager sur tout le territoire du consulat général (NY, NJ, CT, PA, DE), ainsi qu'au Canada.


Zone de sélection:
Le grand public qui remplit actuellement toutes les exigences essentielles énoncées ci-dessous et qui réside aux États-Unis. • Les employés de toute mission du Canada aux États-Unis peuvent poser leur candidature. Note: Les frais de réinstallation ne seront payés en aucun cas.

Notes importantes:
Le processus de dotation en personnel consistera en un examen de toutes les candidatures pour s’assurer que les personnes qui ont postulé satisfont aux exigences essentielles. Veuillez noter que le défaut à satisfaire à l’une ou l’autre des qualifications essentielles élimine les candidats d’un examen plus poussé dans le cadre du concours. La section des Ressources humaines ne communiquera qu’avec les candidat(e)s qui satisfont à ces critères pour un entretien ou d’autres formes d’évaluation (un test écrit, un exercice de la corbeille ou un test de compétences) des exigences cotées pour le poste. Toutes les personnes ayant postulé doivent présenter une preuve de leur statut juridique leur permettant de vivre et de travailler aux États-Unis. Des vérifications des références seront également effectuées. Toutes les communications relatives à ce processus, y compris la correspondance par courriel, peuvent être utilisées pour évaluer les qualifications.

Notre organisation:
Notre organisation offre un milieu de travail inclusif où le respect, le travail d’équipe et la coopération font partie de notre culture.
Les missions du Canada à l’étranger se sont engagées à promouvoir et à appuyer un environnement exempt de harcèlement et de discrimination, ainsi qu’à encourager et à aider les employés à apprendre et à perfectionner leurs aptitudes et leurs compétences.

La force du Canada est la diversité et a joué un rôle clé dans l’histoire du Canada et le développement. Pour cette raison, le consulat général du Canada et de la mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies valorise la diversité, d’équité et d’inclusion dans notre effectif et fortement encourager les demandes de Black, les Autochtones et les personnes de couleur.

Nous offrons un salaire concurrentiel, de généreux congés, 12 semaines de congé parental et un solide ensemble d’avantages sociaux comprenant les soins médicaux, dentaires, l’invalidité de longue durée et un régime d’épargne-retraite pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

Pour postuler:
Toutes les personnes qui posent leur candidature doivent postuler avant le 27 mars 2021 (17h HNE). En remplissant leur candidature, les personnes confirmeront qu’elles satisfont à toutes les exigences essentielles et établiront un lien entre leur expérience professionnelle et la description de poste. Les candidatures sur papier ne seront pas acceptées.

Les personnes qui posent leur candidature doivent téléverser une lettre de motivation et un CV en anglais ou en français. Les candidatures qui n’incluent pas les documents ou renseignements demandés dans le CV ou la lettre de motivation seront rejetées. Toute information supplémentaire doit être incluse dans ces deux pièces jointes.
Les candidat(e)s qui ne peuvent postuler à cause de difficultés techniques doivent les signaler à: CNGNYPRMNYHR@international.gc.ca avant la date de clôture. Le manquement à le faire entraînera le rejet de la candidature.

Notes importantes:
• Veuillez ne pas utiliser de tablette ou de téléphone cellulaire pour soumettre votre candidature, car les navigateurs mobiles ne sont pas pris en charge par notre portail en ligne. Les personnes qui postulent doivent le faire en utilisant un ordinateur portable ou de bureau seulement.
• Seules les candidatures qui sont présentées dans l’une des langues officielles du Canada (anglais ou français) seront acceptées. Les candidat(e)s ont le droit de participer au processus de recrutement dans la langue officielle de leur choix et doivent indiquer la langue officielle qu’ils/elles préfèrent dans leur candidature.
• Les communications liées à ce processus seront envoyées par courriel. Il incombe aux candidat(e)s de s’assurer que les coordonnées fournies sont exactes et qu’elles sont mises à jour, si nécessaire.
• Les personnes qui posent leur candidature à ce poste doivent inclure une adresse de courriel qui accepte les courriels provenant d’utilisateurs inconnus, et vérifier régulièrement leur messagerie, y compris leur dossier de pourriels.




Pour de plus amples informations sur ce poste, veuillez vous référer au document suivant:



Désolé, ce poste à pourvoir est clos.

Navigation principale

Pied de page

Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

 


Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
Job Ref:
4407

Job Title:
Foreign Policy and Diplomacy Service Officer

Salary:
USD $81,385(plus benefits)

Vacancy type:
Fixed term

Term Details:
This is an exciting opportunity to work with the dynamic results-oriented Foreign Policy and Diplomacy Service team at the Consulate General of Canada in New York to promote, advance and strengthen Canada-U.S. bilateral economic and security interests within its 5-state territory (New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Pennsylvania and Delaware). Our employees benefit from working in a leading-edge foreign, trade and development ministry that is both innovative and accountable. We put a premium on learning and make sure our workforce has the skills required to succeed. There is one (1) position available, having a specified period of employment of three (3) years, with the possibility of a term extension or a change in status to indeterminate based on operational needs. This competitive staffing process may be used to create an eligibility list of qualified candidates for these positions and similar positions with various tenures, including indeterminate, term, assignment/transfer, and/or acting opportunities at the Consulate General of Canada in New York that might arise in the 12 months following the completion of this competition.

Level:
Officer

Classification:
LE-O1

Location:
Consulate General of Canada in New York

Closing date for applications:
27-03-2021 at 23:59 UTC+1 / GMT+1

Summary of position:
Under the direction of the Deputy Head (FPDS), and in accordance with the international priorities of the Government of Canada and its specific objectives in the US, the incumbent is responsible for
conducting outreach, undertaking advocacy and reporting on key priority issues, among others. This includes, but is not limited to: monitoring, researching, and analysing policy, legislative, political and economic developments in the region, of interest to Canada; establishing and maintaining contacts in key areas such as academia, government, think tanks, and policy institutions; promoting Canada’s interests and objectives by contributing to discussions in relevant fora throughout the Consulate General’s territory; drafting reports as well as communications and/or advocacy related documents, visit programs and briefing notes; and contributing to the planning and implementation of advocacy projects, program delivery, communications strategies, official visits and events. The FPDS Officer will work closely with the FPDS and International Business Development teams at the Consulate, including its regional presences, as well as with the Canadian network of Consulates in the United States to coordinate activities and initiatives. The candidate will demonstrate a strong ability to think innovatively around program delivery, plan effectively in a highly demanding environment, develop and engage a network of external partners, work independently in a proactive, accountable manner, and communicate effectively.

Essential qualifications:
Essential Qualifications:
Candidates must demonstrate clearly in their letter, how they meet the Language, Education and Experience qualifications listed below. Please be specific and provide examples for each of the qualifications.

Language Requirement:
Fluency in English (oral and written).

Education:
Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university in a field related to the duties required by the position (such as International relations, Political Science, Economics, Business, Communications or Public Policy) or a degree from a recognised university and a minimum of five years of relevant work experience.

Experience:
1. A minimum of 3 years’ recent experience working in governmental or international relations or in an advocacy/policy/economic oriented sector.
2. Experience conducting research and analysis on policy and public affairs issues and in providing advice, briefings and written reports to management and/or clients.
3. Experience in developing relationships with clients, stakeholders and influencers.
4. Experience contributing to the development, planning and execution of advocacy strategies.
5. Experience in project management (including planning, execution, tracking/reporting results and budget management).
6. Experience in preparing briefs, reports and communications materials (e.g. speeches, key messages, presentations) for outreach and events.
7. Experience in an office environment with working knowledge of Word, PowerPoint, Outlook, Excel, internet research and databases.
*Recent experience is defined as within the last 5 years.


Asset Qualifications:
Ability to work in French.

Organizational Needs:
Candidates who meet the Language, Education and Experience requirements will be assessed on the following qualifications. The assessment may include a written test, an interview, and/or reference checks.

Experience:
1. Experience working in an innovative manner with individuals or groups to forge partnerships or cross-sector initiatives;
2. Experience in planning, organizing and conducting meetings and events with key stakeholders; and
3. Experience in applying an intersectional lens to initiatives, with a view to advancing diversity, equity and inclusion; and
4. Experience providing services to and working with a diverse client base, including racialized communities.

Knowledge:
1. Knowledge of the factors that influence policy in the United States generally and how they may have an impact on Canadian foreign policy and economic interests; and
2. Knowledge of the political and economic structures and trends in the Northeast of the United States, and Canada.

Abilities:
1. Ability to communicate effectively in English, orally and in writing;
2. Ability to analyse complex thematics and provide advice;
3. Ability to manage multiple priorities with tight deadlines;
4. Ability to network and maintain a network of clients and influencers;
5. Ability to work independently in a proactive, effective and accountable manner; and
6. Ability to work effectively in a team.

Personal Suitability:
1. Adaptability and flexibility;
2. Effective interpersonal relations;
3. Client Focus;
4. Sound judgement; and
5. Integrity.

Operational Requirements:
Normal hours of work for this position are in accordance with Locally-Engaged Staff regulations of 37.5 hours per week. The successful candidate must be willing to work evenings and overtime as required.

Travel:
This position requires occasional travel throughout the territory of the Consulate General of Canada in New York and, on occasion, to Canada.

Condition(s) of Employment:
• Eligibility for Government of Canada Reliability Status (RS).
• Have independent work authorization in the U.S. and status in accordance with U.S. protocol directives for foreign missions.
• Must be willing and able to travel throughout the Consulate General’s territory (NY, NJ, CT, PA, DE), as well as to Canada.

Area of selection:
The general public who meet all of the essential requirements stated below, who currently reside in the US. • Employees of any Canadian Mission in the U.S may apply. Note: Relocation expenses will not be paid in any circumstance.

Important Notes:
All applications will be carefully reviewed against the essential qualifications. Please note that failure to meet any of the essential qualifications eliminates candidates from further consideration in the competition. Only those applicants who fully meet all the essential qualifications will be contacted for further assessment, including: a personal interview with a series of questions designed to evaluate each applicant’s knowledge, abilities, competencies and personal suitability for the position. In addition, tests may be conducted to assist the selection board in assessing the applicant’s knowledge, abilities, personal suitability and language ability. Reference verifications may also be carried out. All communication relating to this process, including email correspondence may be used in the assessment of qualifications.


Our Organization:
Our organization offers an inclusive workplace where respect, teamwork, and collaboration are part of our culture.
Canada’s missions abroad are committed to promoting and supporting an environment free from harassment and discrimination, as well as encouraging and supporting employees to learn and develop their skills and competencies.

Canada’s strength is diversity and has played a key role in Canada’s history and development. Because of this, the Consulate General of Canada in New York values diversity, equity and inclusion in our workforce and strongly encourage applications from Black, Indigenous and People of Colour.

We offer a competitive salary, generous leave, 12 weeks of paid parental leave and a strong benefits package to include medical, dental, long term disability, and a retirement savings plan to name a few.

Method of application:
All applicants should apply by March 27, 2021 (5PM EST) . In completing their applications, candidates will confirm that they meet all the essential requirements and relate their work experience to the position description. Hard copy applications will not be accepted.

Candidates are required to upload a cover letter and CV in English or French. Applications which do not include the requested documents or information in the CV or cover letter will be rejected. Any additional information must be included as part of these two attachments.

Candidates who are unable to submit their application due to technical difficulties must report these to: CNGNYPRMNYHR@international.gc.ca prior to the closing date. Failure to do so will result in the application being rejected.

Important Notes:
• Please do not use a tablet or cell phone to submit your application, as mobile browsers are not supported by our on-line portal. Candidates should only apply using a laptop or desktop computer.
• Only applications submitted in one of the official languages of Canada will be accepted (English or French). Candidates are entitled to participate in the recruitment process in the official language of their choice and to indicate their preferred official language in their application.
• Communication for this process will be sent via email. It is the responsibility of the candidates to ensure accurate contact information is provided and updated as required.
• Candidates who apply to this vacancy should include an email address that accepts email from unknown users and regularly check their email, including spam folder.



For more information about this position please open the following documents:



Sorry, this vacancy is closed.

Primary navigation

Footer